Year 9 Rugby

The current Year 9 rugby team were the first year group to take part in Saturday rugby fixtures from Year 7, and have continued playing comprehensive fixtures against top independent and grammar school ever since.

From their experience gained, they have become one of our most successful and dedicated school teams to date. The extent of their success was reflected in four Year 9 players being selected to represent the County Under 14’s Surrey Rugby: Max McAuliffe (school captain), Sam Regan, Owen Hulme, Rhys Clutterbuck, and Harry Hardisty.

Since September we have played 9 games, won 8, losing once to previous Surrey champions Howard of Effingham.

The team is based on a large and robust pack of forwards (George Walker, Matt Gardiner, Finn Jenner, Xav Copp, Felix Sarrup, Max McAuliffe (captain), Owen Hulme, Rhys Clutterbuck, Oli Evans, Ben Hookway, Oli Sweeney). The pack contains some very dominant ball carriers, and also are very effective at the break down.

The back line comprises of: Sammy Carlisle, Ben Johnson, Sam Regan, Harry Hardisty, Tom Corbett, Mickey McNamara, Charlie Watkins, James Bruce and Dean Bennett whose pace, lines of running and attacking prowess enable an effective off load game.

Player of the term:
Tom Corbett – who has scored some scintillating long distance tries, showing an excellent turn of pace.


Mr Faulkner

View Image